• Last Update 2021-10-17 21:11:00

Landslide warnings in five districts


Five districts have been placed under an alert for possible landslides, the National Building Research Organization (NBRO) said.

The Galle, Kegalle, Matara, Nuwara-Eliya and Ratnapura districts which have been receiving heavy rains face risks of the landslides.

The warning will be valid until 7 pm today (27).

Among the specific vulnerable areas are the Eheliyagoda, Kuruwita, Kalawana, Nivitigala and Ratnapura divisional secretariat divisions (DSDs) and the Ambagamuwa DSD in Nuwara Eliya District.

In the Galle district the  Elpitiya and the Neluwa divisions as well as  Yatiyantota, Ruwanwella DSDs in Kegalle district and Akuressa, Kotapola DSDs in Matara district have also been identified as vulnerable areas.

Rains up to 100 mm can be received in some of the areas, the Department of Meteorology warned.

You can share this post!

  • Still No Comments Posted.

Leave Comments