• Last Update 2021-11-26 17:28:00

Cricket: SLC announces Referees’ and Umpires’ Panel for the LPL


The second edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) will be officiated by a highly recognised Match Referee Panel and an Umpiring Panel, respectively, consisting of Chief Match Referee of the ICC, Ranjan Madugalle, and ICC Elite Panel Umpire Kumar Dharmasena.

This is the second consecutive time both officials will be operating at the LPL 2021, which is Sri Lanka’s topmost domestic T20 tournament, with an international flavour.

Madugalle, a member of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees have refereed in eight ICC Cricket World Cups, including the finals of 1999, 2003, 2015, 2019, and in the recently conducted ICC Men's T20 World Cup and will be joined by Graeme Labrooy and Wendell Labrooy, who are members of the International Panel of ICC Match Referees.

Manoj Mendis, a First Class Match Referee of Sri Lanka too will join the Panel of LPL Match Referees.

Kumar Dharmasena is a member of the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, who won the ICC David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year in 2012 and 2018.

Dharmasena will be joined by Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal, and Prageeth Rambukwella, who are members of the ICC International Panel of Umpires.

Apart from them, Deepal Gunawardena, Hemantha Boteju, Keerthi Bandara, Asanga Jayasuriya, Rohitha Kottahachchi and Raveendra Kottahachchi, who are Level 1 Umpires officiating in Sri Lanka’s First Class Domestic Cricket, will also take up officiating duties during the LPL.

The Lanka Premier League will commence on December 5 and will be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, whilst the league will move to Sooriyawewa, Hambantota, to work out the knockout stage of the competition. 

The final of the competition will be played on December 23.

You can share this post!

  • Still No Comments Posted.

Leave Comments